VBL Championships Finals 2023

VBL Championships

Finals 2023 Results

Len McMurty Rose Bowl Singles

Gary Ballentine from Pickie Bowling Club was crowned Veterans’ Singles Champion 2023 after a closely contested final over 18 ends. Gary pipped Alex Crooks of Larne to this title, scoring 15 shots to Alex’s 10 at a very sunny Belmont Bowling Club last Friday afternoon. Both players enthralled the watching gallery with their precision of drawing bowls played on a very acceptable paced rink.

(Singles Winner Gary Ballentine)

(Singles Finalists, Alex Crooks & Gary Ballentine)

E. Thornton Pairs

The Banbridge pairing of Tony Bell & Martin Nelson are the 2023 Thornton Pairs Champions, overcoming Bobby Martin & Bobby Robinson from Portadown in a very competitive final, which was only decided on the very last ends. The two Bobby’s went into the last end only one down, but unfortunately were unable to turn the tables. Final score 22-19. Congratulations to Banbridge pair and commiserations and well done to Portadown pairing.

(Thornton Pairs Winners Tony Bell & Martin Nelson)

(Thornton Pairs Runners-up Bobby Martin & Bobby Robinson)

Richardson Shield Triples

Lurgan & Dromore contested the 2023 Richardson Triples final with Dromore’s Alan Jess, Kenny Poots & Davy Graham securing the title by 16 shots to 10 over Alan Briggs, Iain Ferguson & Peter Dew. A close encounter affair with Dromore’s skip Davy Graham, recovering from many a tricky situation. Congratulations to both sets of players.

(Richardson Triples Champions, Alan Jess, Davy Graham & Kenny Poots)

Lurgan Triple, Peter Dew, Alan Briggs & Iain Ferguson)

Art McCullough Fours

The Fours final can down to the wire! Last end, Ballymena leading by 5, Divis skip removes Ballymena’s closest bowl and pockets a 5 to tie the match. The resulting tie end went in favour of Divis Gerard Mulgrave, Danny Park, Damian McFarlane & William Ward by just a single shot. Commiserations and well done to Alan McAuley, Tommy Hill, Graham Wilson & Roy Torrington. Well done to both fours for an excellent game to watch.

(Fours Champions, Gerard Mulgrave, William Ward, Damian McFarland & Danny Park)

(Ballymena Four, Alan McAuley, Tommy Hill, Graham Wilson & Roy Torrington)